Holographic Detailed Shoes

By: Valeria Herrera (all photos were taken by me)

Welcome back, Creators! For this week’s DIY project, I wanted to create a trend I have been recently seeing a lot on social media. I have noticed how shoes have become a big fashion trend, especially ones with unique colors and designs. One of my favorite designs are shoes with iridescent details. They look so unique and artistic. Unfortunately for me, shoes like these cost around $70-$100 and I can not afford to easily spend that much money. So, I decided to try to recreate this amazing design.

img_8340img_8405

I took an old pair of my favorite puma shoes and transformed them into the latest stylish trend. Below, I will guide you step by step on how you can recreate this trend yourself!

Materials You Will Need:

  • Your own used shoes (you can re-design a detailed shape of your shoe or even the midsole of your shoe).
  • Metallic paint
  • Mod Podge
  • Paint Brush
  • Iridescent cello wrapping tissue
  • Scissor
  • Piece of paperimg_8338

Helpful Tools:

X-acto Knife and Scotch tape

IMG_8408 (1).jpg

  Step One:

The first step is to outline the shape of where you would like to place the iridescent detail (shoe logo or midsole of the shoe). Make sure your outline is light but visible so that you can easily cut the piece. Using scissors, cut out the shape. I found that using an x-acto knife was easier to get the precise shape.Trust me, cutting the detail piece at the beginning will make it easier to paste later on and save time.

Once you cut the piece, set it aside for now until step four.

Step Two:

For the next step, I chose to mix sterling silver and ice blue. I decided to mix these two because my cello wrap tissue had a strong pink shade, so I added metallic blue color underneath that will create an even more iridescent effect. If your cello wrap tissue has blue/green tones, then you can mix purple or pink with metallic silver to do the same effect.

Before I began to paint my shoe, I added scotch tape around the edges of the shape. I found this helpful in case I painted onto the fabric of my shoe. Then, I painted the white detail of my shoe with the metallic ice blue paint. I found that 3 coats of paint were enough to achieve a solid color.

*Tip: Make sure to wait until the paint is completely dry in between each coat of paint because the paint can move around when still wet. You can use a blow dryer to speed up the process.

Step Three:

Using Mod podge, cover the design shape with a light layer of the glue finish. 1-2 coats should be enough.

*Tip: Make sure the shape is completely covered with mod podge and somewhat tacky before proceeding to the next step.

Step Four:

Finally, the last step in the process to take the cut piece you set aside from step one and place it on top of your shoe while the glue is still somewhat wet and tacky. Let it dry so that it does not move around.

*Tip: If you notice that your cut out shape is slightly bigger than the design, then use scissors or x-acto knife to trim the excess tissue.

img_8397

After you placed the iridescent tissue, add another layer of mod podge on top to reinforce the tissue onto the shoe. The glue finish will harden and protect the cello wrap tissue from falling off.

img_8398

Hooray! You have finished!

 

img_8407-e1487569652236.jpg

I loved this DIY project! It added a unique touch to my favorite shoes and made them look as if they were brand new. The vibrant iridescent color reflected beautifully against the light. But what I loved about this project the most is that, instead of buying shoes with iridescent details for $70-$100, I only spent around $10 to create myself. How amazing is that!

 

Leave a Reply

